The Manchester YMCA Harriers Committee

The Manchester YMCA Harriers Committee is responsible for the day-to-day running of the club and making decisions that will affect the future of the club.

Everybody on the committee is a volunteer who gives their time freely for the benefit of the club and its members.

Committee members are elected at the Club's Annual General Meeting.

Steph Goodchild - Club President

Steph's role as Club President involves chairing committee and general meetings, making a speech at the club's Annual General Meeting and generally being a good egg!

Steph has been a member of the Manchester YMCA Harriers since 1990; she has served on the Committee for fifteen years and has previously been the Club Treasurer for ten years. She is the first woman to hold the role of Club President in our history!

Steph is a keen fell and ultra-distance runner.

Chris March - Club Secretary

Chris's role as Club Secretary involves registering club members with England Athletics and managing the membership of the club. The Club Secretary is also responsible for administrative tasks around committee meetings and the Club's Annual General Meeting, including the collation of agendas, the recording of minutes and distributing these as required.

Chris also keeps this website up to date!

Heather Hughes - Club Treasurer

Heather's role as Club Treasurer involves managing the club's bank account, maintaining a cash book and producing income and expenditure reports for general club activities. Her role also involves producing and delivering an annual statement and report for the club's Annual General Meeting.

Heather has been fundamental in bringing the Club's banking into the 21st century, allowing us to take payment by BACS transfer.

Sarah Wilson and Craig Jones - Captains

Sarah and Craig are our leaders "on the pitch".

Their role as captains also involves planning the Thursday evening group run and acting as leaders for the session, as well as organising marathon training sessions and routes.

They deliver a monthly "Captain's Report" which is provided to the committee and an annual report at the Annual General Meeting.

The captains present awards at presentation evenings and decide upon the annual award for our "most improved runner" as well as the weightings for our Christmas handicap race.

Both Craig and Sarah are excellent marathon runners; Craig's marathon PB is 2:34 and Sarah's is 3:27.

Graeme Wilkinson - Committee Member

Graeme's role as Race Entries Secretary involves collating the club's entry for the Manchester Area Cross Country League and the South East Lancs Cross Country League.

Marlow Upton - Committee Member

Marlow is new on the committee for 2020.

Phil Tomkinson - Committee Member

Phil is new on the committee for 2020.

Sandra Robinson - Committee Member

Sandra is new on the committee for 2021.